Bikini Killer Style

She came in with her guns out

screaming about the ocean:

‘anybody wanna go with me?’

Never knew punk rock could be so pretty.

-Atmosphere, “Body Pillow”

Sorry for the blog hiatus. I’ve been vacationing in Washington and Oregon. It’s a gorgeous region (in the summer, at least…), if not a little culturally isolated. Just when I thought the Northwest hadn’t contributed much other than grunge and Starbucks, I happened to read up on the riot grrl movement. I was about a decade too late and several states too far south to take part in the young female takeover of punk music, but it’s certainly not too late to get inspired by the fashion. It looks as though some tough stuff will be in for fall, but still, skip the spikes and chains. 90s riot grrl style is like  punk’s cute little sister who can still kick your ass.

Short babydoll dresses were essential. Something about referencing the beauty of girlhood before self-consciousness and body image issues kicked in. Also good for non-political purposes like keeping your legs cool.

Painted Roses dress by Motel, $62.99 at Modcloth.

Also, do you have a sec to check out the back of this thing?

Good. Because it’s awesome.

Now, may I be obvious for a moment?

You’ll need a pair of Docs.

Dr. Martens black 8-eye boots, $99.99 at Journeys, $80 perhaps if you get a salesman who writes his unsolicited phone number on your receipt despite seeing you in your awkward dinosaur socks. Thanks Danny!

Diane Von Furstenberg cat eye sunglasses, $145 at Saks Fifth Avenue. I like how the large lenses make these a more modern, wearable cat eye.
Top off the look by writing on yourself with a permanent marker.

Kathleen Hanna (pic copied from thescreensiren.blogspot.com)

Have Sharpie, will reclaim terms.

Resist psychic death!

5 thoughts on “Bikini Killer Style

  1. Pingback: Kathleen Hanna’s Back | Aesthetic Etiquette

  2. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work
    so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the info you present here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on
    my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyways, excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

