This Hat is Covered in Fur and Questions

Albertus Swanepoel for Target “Layla” hat, $19.99

Something happened when I was at Target buying shampoo and bakeware. I saw this ridiculous hat, tried it on, and posed awkwardly in the mirror with my coconut Suave and cookie sheet. It was designed by Albertus Swanepoel, who is apparently as good at hats as he is at having a cool name. It looked better than expected. It’s also called the “Layla” hat, which is one letter away from my name (Kayla), just like I was one cognitive process away from self-control. Sign from a higher power, most likely.

I bought it and vowed to return it if I come to my senses.

I don’t think I will.

These photos from Refinery 29 (albeit from two years ago…is it time for a comeback already?) make me think it’s a fashion risk worth taking.

…but the tags, the recipt, and the fact that it’s a big ‘ol furry hat remain.

Leave a Reply

